Worth the dark and stormy night

I have gotten very spoiled lately with having the majority of my soccer games only a 5-10 minute drive away. Then tonight I started playing in a new winter indoor league in Maryland. Yes, all the way in Maryland. I had never been there before so I decided to leave super early. Google maps was saying 20 minutes, I allowed 50. Then it started raining. And it was pitch black and there was construction and then an accident and then random unexplainable traffic and then I missed it the first time I went by. I can’t wait until we have a game right after work and I have to add rush hour into that mess.

I ran in with only five minutes until game time to find out we may not have an opponent. I’m a pretty easy going person but after driving 45 minutes at night in the rain to play a soccer game, I was going to be pretty pissed if we didn’t play a damn soccer game. We started warming up and then out of nowhere our opponents suddenly materialized. It took about 2.5 seconds of watching their warm-up to realize we were going to be fighting a pretty uphill battle. Perhaps more of a cliff than an actual hill.

Let’s just say that about 20 minutes into the game we learned a new rule: if you’re down by five goals, you can play with an extra player. Yet somehow they still seemed to have an extra person open at all times. Later when we found out several of them currently play Division 1 ball, making them not only very skilled but very young, we didn’t feel as bad. Plus the calories I burned alone were worth the drive.

Of course I had to sample the puposas this nice lady was making right outside the field. Someone pointed out she wasn’t wearing gloves or anything but I figured, hey, neither does your Mom when she cooks, right?

20111116-221832.jpg

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

