He looked in the sleigh

I never realized how much I missed my childhood Advent calendar until today:

For as long as I can remember, I have counted down to Christmas with this little bear. For every day from December 1-24, he looks for Christmas in a different place. When my Grandma originally got it for me, she decided to take it to the next level and make this brilliant countdown even better. So she made an actual bear and put little pieces of Velcro next to every spot where he was supposed to look, so you can literally move him from place to place every day.

Every year we hung it in my room and every morning in December I would announce to the household where the bear was looking that day. I continued this tradition through college, albeit not until I got home for break around the third week of December. Since my first job after graduation – working for a Congressional campaign – ended in November, I even made it back to my parents’ house and the bear’s search for Christmas that year as well. It was only when I moved to DC that we were separated.

But now A Beary Merry Christmas is back and better than ever! Most mornings I’m lucky if I remember to put on shoes, much less realize that it’s December 1st and time to put a little bear by a sleigh. But somehow today, despite the normal morning fog and the added confusion that comes from being without an iPhone (and you thought I’d make it through a post without complaining about that), I managed to remember just in time. The little guy has spent the entire day looking in that sleigh and I can now confirm: Christmas has not yet been found.

Maybe I should have him looking for my iPhone instead…

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

