The war of the watches

This is what 500 bracelet watches look like before each one is set by hand:

I know, because I set at least 100 of them myself. One by one. With a paper clip.

There were many stations in our assembly line of backpacks that are going to kids in Haiti for Christmas. Lots of people came to the watch room to help. Not many made it past their first watch. Only a select few survived the entire four hour process. I went into combat with those watches and lost more than a couple of battles. But, in the end, I won the war.

Which may explain why when someone asked what would happen if while in the air on the way to Haiti all the watches got reset, the room got very, very quiet. It’s a good thing we were in a church cause otherwise there might have been bloodshed.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The war of the watches

  1. Kiya says:

    Oh my gosh..
    I totally just bought one of those the other day for 99 cents…
    and it keeps resetting itself. Caution! Those are really comfortable though.

  2. Larry McD says:

    Brava! A genuinely superb post, my dear.

Leave a Reply

