Peppermints were harmed in the making of these cookies

Since the Chapmans were coming over today for an early Christmas dinner, I made another batch of candy cane cookies. This time they were made to my Mom’s exact specifications, including the crushed peppermint sprinkles on top:

Why did I bother when last time I skipped that last step altogether and no one noticed (except Mom of course)? Cause last time I didn’t have a meat tenderizer aka Peppermint Pulverizer. Luckily that problem was solved early last week with a quick run to Target. Crushing peppermints to smithereens with a somewhat large mallet made for a great Sunday afternoon activity.

Oh and please don’t point out the one candy cane going the other direction, it’s bothering me enough as it is.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peppermints were harmed in the making of these cookies

  1. Kiya says:

    Hmm…. Sounds like fun. I always love to crush stuff with a meat tenderizer!! Candy canes = taste like Christmas!

  2. yo mama says:

    My weapon of choice is a food processor, but I know you have a more aggressive approach. Whatever works…..and thank you. I feel much better seeing the little peppermint and sugar sprinkles on the candy canes.

    • I know how concerned you were about the first batch. Now that I think about it I do remember you using a food processor, but I could have sworn I remember you whacking the heck out of some non-meat thing with a meat tenderizer – any ideas?

Leave a Reply

