It’s beginning to look a lot like paradise…

This morning we headed to the grocery store first thing to stock up for the week. It actually turned out to be more stressful than the crazy cab ride last night – talk about sticker shock! We should have known from the beginning that it was going to bad when the oranges were priced at $1.50 a piece. After we had sufficiently recovered from that trauma we walked over to the beach, which is literally about three blocks from our condo.

Our plan was to be waiting there at noon for my sister, BL, and The Lady of the Sea to come the seven miles from the boat on their dinghy. We both had walkie talkies but I still thought finding each other would involve a lot of luck. We were running late and didn’t make it until 12:05 and I began imagining them cruising right on past our spot and never knowing it. Then about 30 seconds after we arrived, I hear “Megan, Megan, are you there? Over.” It took about a minute of discussion on which button was the talking button, but soon enough their dinghy was coming around the corner. Talk about good timing! It turned out to be the perfect spot to lay out our blanket and relax with a certain cutie:

The view was pretty spectacular, and I’m not just talking about the ocean.

Even with all the picturesque settings, I think this may be my favorite photo I took all day:

It only happened because The Lady of the Sea saw my camera and wanted a closer look. But for some reason it makes me feel like I’ve fallen down a deep hole and she has come to save me. It only gets better the bigger it gets, making it the best wallpaper my laptop has ever seen.

It was pretty strange to be laying on the beach in 80 degree weather a week before Christmas, but I feel it’s a strangeness that I can learn to live with.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s beginning to look a lot like paradise…

  1. Larry McD says:

    Can’t help thinking that someday, a very long time from now, you’re gonna see that face over you and hear her saying “It’s OK, Aunt Meg. Relax. I’ve run all the tests and you’re gonna be fine.”

Leave a Reply

