No prescription needed

Did you know you have to have a prescription that’s less than a year old to order contacts from 1-800-CONTACTS.com? They don’t say that in their commercial. Since my insurance only pays for either glasses or contacts once every year and I had opted for glasses in 2011, I had been trying to make my one year supply of contacts from 2010 last for two years. I was only 3 months short.

As the lady on the phone explained, since it had been 21 months since the last time that I paid an eye doctor to tell me the prescription I already knew, they apparently were not allowed to sell me even one box of contacts. The idea that I could pay them, tell them my prescription, and even upload a photo of the box of contacts with my prescription on the side and they would not take my money and give me my contacts seemed pretty odd to me. Apparently contacts are a gateway drug.

So I went to that great oracle that always provides me with the answers: Google. It suggested I do what any self-respecting American would do in this situation: Buy International! One visit to the U.K.’s version of 1-800-contacts.com and my contacts were ordered, sans prescription. Was this wrong? Possibly. Un-American? Probably. Illegal? I hope not. But one way or another, my package from the U.K. arrived today after 4 to 6 business days via air mail:

20120128-001901.jpg

Now if I could only figure out if that box was for the left eye or the right…

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

