Hey Mom, quick cooking question…

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post about my crock-pot cooking adventures, I have compiled this list of 10 actual questions that I called my mother to ask during the cooking process. Looking back at my call log, it seems I called her no less than eight times in a five hour period on Wednesday night, messaged her once Thursday morning, then called her once more on Thursday night. All in all pretty average for me.

“Is Muenster cheese spicy?”

“It says to use dry white wine. What kind of wine should I get?”

“How many onions make two cups sliced?”

“When they say sliced, do they mean slices or little pieces?”

“How do I fit onion slices into a measuring cup?”

“The recipe says to buy unsalted butter but they’re out of the store brand I usually buy. Is it okay to get Land O’ Lakes unsalted sweet butter?”

“The recipe calls for thighs with skin and bones but all I could find were thighs with skin and bones and the legs still attached. Should I just cut the legs off?”

“I plugged the crock-pot in and turned the knob to low, but there’s no light that shows it’s on. Do you think it’s really cooking?”

“It’s been cooking for 9 1/2 hours. Do you think it’s done?”

“When I push the Custom Broil button on my oven, it automatically sets the temperature to 500 degrees. Is that where it should be set to broil?”

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hey Mom, quick cooking question…

  1. Anonymous says:

    I see absolutely nothing wrong with any of those questions, and I would actually like to know the answers for future reference!

  2. Okay I take slight exception to the part about my sister who I believe does most of her bread baking between the hours of 9 and 5. I’m sure my niece is a wonderful “helper.”

  3. yo mama says:

    LOL. Yep, that pretty much sums it up! I just can’t figure this out….You have a grandmother and grandfather that were great cooks. You have a mother that is passionate about food and cooking. You have a sister who lives on a sailboat, has a 16-month-old and still finds time to make homemade bread. How can this have happened???

Leave a Reply

