Going cold turkey

Tonight I’m celebrating my own version of Mardi Gras with a marathon of television. That’s because as of tomorrow, the TV junkie is giving up TV. No, seriously. I am actually going to avoid all forms of television for 40 some odd days. It could get ugly. Very ugly.

You may not want to attempt socialization with me after week 2. And I can’t promise I won’t punch you in the face at the first mention of next week’s finale of White Collar.

20120221-233407.jpg

The last time I gave up TV for this long, I was a stubborn teenager trying to make a point. I am so over that phase.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going cold turkey

  1. Pingback: Saving the world one sheep at a time | The 1st draft…

  2. I already rack up an absurd number of insomniac hours watching TV now, so at worst I’ll just be going back to normal. I’m hoping I will find other things to fill my time that will carry over after lent to some degree.

  3. Larry McD says:

    I cannot imagine the number of insomniac hours you’re going to spend in late April and early May searching out reruns and repeats to catch up. It’s entirely up to you, but I’d suggest the more moderate approach recommended by Dr. Weil- limit yourself to two hours a day. Otherwise it’s like going on a graham cracker and water diet for 40 days. You may cleanse yourself but the temptation to binge the day the diet’s over is gonna be horrific.

Leave a Reply

