Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen: A Trip to the Grocery Store

My awesome friend The Food Scientist helped me come up with the best name for the new cooking section of my blog, proving he is good not only with food and science, but words as well. I couldn’t let his genius go to waste, so I decided to go big with the first official edition of Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen. I went bold. I went to video. I went…to the grocery store. What it lacks in kitchen it makes up for in klutz.

Usually my grocery store visits consist of piling my cart with boxes…boxes of Diet Coke, boxes of popcorn, boxes of cereal, boxes of 100 calorie pack cookies, boxes of Lean Cuisines…I could go on. Now you understand my mother’s concerns. A trip to the grocery store with my roommate The Flying Crane, however, is not a sprint. It is a marathon. As a certified cooker of actual food, she goes down every single isle, pausing to inspect the merchandise, consult her list, and consider her options. And consider. And consider. Let’s just say sometimes I bring a book to the grocery store.

Now things are completely backwards, as she has started eating more frozen food because of her busy schedule, and I have taken up actual cooking because of my need for more self-deprecation material on my blog. Our finely-tuned grocery store routine has been torn asunder. Luckily though it frees her up to play a vital advisory role for my shopping.

Before you see the video I want to make it clear, I didn’t plan any of this in advance. All I did was hit record and capture what always happens when I try to go grocery shopping for real. What you are about to see is unscripted and unrehearsed. There were no do-overs. Also this is my first successful video using iMovie so hopefully it’s not too sloppy.

Without further ado, I present to you: A Trip to the Grocery Store.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen: A Trip to the Grocery Store

  1. Pingback: Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen: A Heaping Portion of Spanish Noodles | The 1st draft…

  2. Sis says:

    This totally cracked Jack and I up!!! You’re awesome Meg. Maybe you should come to the baby birth in Charleston and make a witty video about it?

Leave a Reply

