A happy plate

Today around 3:30 I realized I should probably start thinking about what I was going to feed Cecily when she came over for our Thursday night dinner. Instead of cooking big girl food like I have been trying some lately, I decided to cater to my audience. Since Cecily and I enjoy much the same cuisine as your average third grader, I began asking myself what I would fix for an 8-year-old.

The answer occurred to me in a flash: pizza sandwiches! A childhood favorite, the pizza sandwich is made like a grilled cheese except in the middle you put mozzarella, then pizza sauce, then more mozzarella. You can get fancier with it if you actually like toppings and such but when it comes to Cecily and I, plain is always better.

I didn’t want to just make the sandwich, mostly because I know my own stomach would reject that as far too little food, but what goes with pizza sandwiches? Coming up blank, I began randomly roaming the aisles of Harris Teeter (grocery store names are so weird), looking for inspiration.

HT came through in a major way. Grinning right at me from the freezer section was another childhood (okay and adulthood) favorite: Smiley fries! They got a little sunburned in the oven but they are still so dang fun:

20120308-233758.jpg

So that is my Daily Photo because if that isn’t the plate of an 8-year-old, I don’t know what is. Cecily ranked it as one of her top favs of our Thursday night meals, so I was pretty proud. But I also have to share with you a photo of the Smiley fries before I put them in the oven, because for some reason I found them way more than a little creepy:

20120309-000250.jpg

I swear their eyes follow me when I move.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

