Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen: A Heaping Portion of Spanish Noodles

Most of the ingredients I was seen hunting down in my A Trip to the Grocery Store video, including the elusive kluski noodles, were for Spanish Noodles, a casserole my Mom used to make on a semi-regular basis. It was never a favorite of my sister or myself. For me I think the problem was that there was just too much stuff in it that I couldn’t identify. There were the green things, the red things, the brown things…and was that an olive?? Basically I just ate the noodles, meat and cheese, maybe a few bites of corn, and shoved the rest to the side of my plate in the hope that it would slowly cease to be.

My culinary tastes have not changed all that much from when I was 10, so I didn’t really give Spanish Noodles a chance. Then I tried it again a couple of years ago and was truly shocked to find I really liked it. So I decided to give cooking it a try, and realized my childhood objections were relevant again: there’s just too many damn ingredients!

The other problem with the recipe is it makes SO much. Originally I asked my Mom if I should just do half of the recipe but she said no, I could just freeze it. Amazingly, what you will see in the video is only half of the final product – it completely filled two 9×13 baking pans. My freezer can’t even hold that much food. Luckily I happened to be going over to the Chapmans the night I first made it so they benefited from my dilemma. Of course since I froze mine for later it meant they would be eating it before I did, which caused me a fair amount of anxiety. The fact that they survived the meal made me hopeful for my own fate.

So here you have it: A Heaping Portion of Spanish Noodles.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ms. Adventures in a Klutzy Kitchen: A Heaping Portion of Spanish Noodles

  1. Cheryl says:

    Hilarious! Seems as though that onion grew bigger and bigger.

  2. Larry McD says:

    Terrifying.. Truly Terrifying. Greg and I both found ourselves tucking our hands into our armpits to protect our fingers!!!

Leave a Reply

