Happy Birthday Daddy!!!

Saturday was a milestone birthday for my Dad and that combined with the fact that I haven’t been to my hometown in over a year meant it was time for a visit. Right before I left for a long weekend back in the Midwest, Cecily told me to take lots of pictures. This is her usual request before someone goes on a trip, but this time I had to point out the lack of photo opportunities where I would be going. Since I’m always saying how different it is in DC compared to where I grew up, she challenged me to capture Life in a Small Town. I’m not sure if I managed that, but I did at least get My Weekend Spent in a Small Town. But first, I wanted to share a few things I couldn’t capture with my camera:

  • The GORGEOUS night sky I was hit over the head with as soon as I got out of the car at my parent’s house. So big, so blue, with so many stars shining so bright and nothing getting in the way of the view.
  • The awesome local doctor who squeezed me in on the only weekday I was in town so I could order some inserts that my poor pained feet desperately need.
  • The abundance of parking and the lack of any need for payment for said parking.
  • How famous my Dad is.

Did I mention he was turning 65? Cause I might have told everyone we met. With baby faces like ours, it’s important to clarify these things. Every five years or so he re-defines my definition of what is old. And not just because of his looks.

Dancing Chickens, a family favorite involving grilling chickens with beer cans stuck up their innards, were on the menu for the party we went to at his office. And no Cecily, it doesn’t make the chicken taste like beer.

The next day on the way to one of my favorite local restaurants, I managed to capture a scene that could only be found in a small town:

This place is trying to pass itself off as “Dunn’s Sporting Goods”. But the lineup of animals waiting to be shot combined with a parking lot that has more pickup trucks than some car dealerships make it clear it should be called “Dunn’s Guns”. It was the last weekend of turkey season after all.

The next stop after lunch was the drive-thru liquor store:

Then it was on to our next party. Dad was in the high school class of ’65 and since they are all turning 65, they decided to have a class birthday party. It was even more fitting that they happened to be having it on Dad’s actual 65th birthday. If you’ve never crashed the birthday party of two dozen 65-year-olds, you should really try it some Saturday night.

The next day I got to see three of my nieces and nephews for the first time in over a year. I really need to never let it be that long between visits again. While the boys fished…

We girls channeled our inner Girl Scout to make bird feeders out of pine cones and peanut butter!!

Then I channeled my non-existent inner tree-hugger to hang the feeders:

Later we enjoyed another great part about living out in the country: a walk in the woods! Warning: if any of you city people have a fear of trees or wooded areas, you may want to avert your eyes from the next few photos.

The last but definitely not least in my captured moments of small town life came during a conversation Mom and I had on the way to the airport.

Mom: There’s actually a lot of traffic this morning.
I take out my camera and take a photo.
Mom: What did you just do?
Me: Take a picture of the road.
Mom: You’re going to show this to people and tell them this is your Mom’s definition of a lot of traffic, aren’t you?
Me: Yep.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday Daddy!!!

  1. Anonymous says:

    WAIT. You went to a live auction?! I’ve only ever seen those on tv! I seriously can’t wait to hear all about your trip tonight.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Not one but TWO distinct shout-outs in one post?! I’ve made it to the big leagues… Love everything about this post.

  3. Sis says:

    Made me feel like I was there, you’re such a good writer Meg. Love you!

  4. Glad you liked! I had trouble not making it even longer than it already is. There was a video of a live auction I went to that didn’t even make the cut!

  5. The Libuncle says:

    Seriously. Fun and funny. LOVE the final foto and the narration.

Leave a Reply

