A weenie roast in a can

I really love giving other people gifts that can double as gifts for myself. I did it last Christmas with that ping pong table for the Chapmans, and now I have done it with The Flying Crane’s birthday present.

She has wanted a s’more making kit ever since our Christmas party when someone else got the one I brought for the gift exchange. So finally I got her a really simple one that includes a can of sterno, a grill encasement so we don’t burn our fingers off, and four fake sticks to stab the marshmallows with. She kindly volunteered to wait until I got back to try it out, so last night we finally fired it up.

I was super impressed by the speed at which our marshmallows cooked on that little thing. As my Dad would say, for people who don’t have the luxury of living in the country it wasn’t half bad.

I also very much enjoyed the fact that the sterno was neon purple.

The kit turned out to be a huge success and I even brought it over to Cecily’s tonight to spread the joy. Although I did have to explain to her what a weenie roast was. Apparently that’s a Midwest/small town/country thing.

My favorite moment was definitely late this morning when I was chatting with The Flying Crane and she admitted to having two s’mores for breakfast. Apparently the fact that they made a delicious breakfast is problematic for her. I don’t really see the issue.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Nuttin' and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A weenie roast in a can

  1. I can agree that the kit doesn’t hold a candle to a true weenie roast, but it’s a pretty great substitute when you live in the city! I actually don’t know what else you call a large fire in the backyard that is used to cook hotdogs for supper and s’mores for dessert. Whatever you call it, I have the feeling I’m going to be spreading the Gospel quite a lot this summer.

  2. The Libuncle says:

    If I didn’t see it as such an important (and potentially vital) contribution to urban culture, I’d call this one of those “outward and visible signs of inward and spiritual decay” moments.

    But on the contrary, I’m proud of your work to spread the Gospel of S’mores (though I think we need to separate the Gospel of S’mores from the Ritual of the Weenie Roast) and I’m profoundly impressed by your conversion of The Flying Crane to the S’mores for Breakfast Without Guilt society.

    Bless you, child.

Leave a Reply

