Watch out bloggers, the Sis has arrived!

For years I have been trying to convince my sister to have a blog. I have never known any one who should have one more than her. I mean, before she lived with her husband and two kids on a sailboat, she was a missionary nurse in Honduras. Before that, she trained for and completed an Ironman (in which she swam 2.4 miles in the ocean, biked 112 miles and then ran a MARATHON all in a row). Before that, she spent 11 months backpacking around the world by herself, which included skydiving, running a marathon, climbing a glacier, getting several scuba diving certifications, going on a safari, and so, so much more.

For a writer, watching that much potential content go to waste is like a very slow torture. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life and I love my blog. I would not choose to live my sister’s life anymore than she would choose to live mine. But oftentimes the frequency in which I want to write is greater than the frequency in which I have something to write about. If I devote a fair amount of time to crafting something just right, I can usually make my blog worth reading (at least I hope so). But for my sister, all she has to do is go about her day.

So when the Sis told me a local Charleston TV station was going to be interviewing her about the Iron-Willed Buccaneer’s birth at sea, I made the pitch one more time. And she went for it!!! Not wanting to waste the moment, I brainstormed some blog names with her and Cecily right away. When we found one we all liked, I promised the Sis that if she gave out that address to the TV crew, there would be a blog set up there by the time the story ran that night. It was crunch time, blogger-geek style, and I was loving it! Cecily worked her design magic with the header, I created a WordPress site, bought the domain, set up some widgets and BOOM! A blog was born: ohtheplaceswevebeen.com

Later I helped the Sis get her first post up just in time for the news story that linked to her brand new blog. The next day it got 10x more hits than my blog’s best day ever. And it was AMAZING!!!!!

Now I am officially obsessed – there’s even a Facebook page. And my poor sister. Basically I am the world’s biggest slave driver. Nevermind that the baby needs fed and the one-year-old doesn’t want to nap and the diapers need to be washed – there are posts to be written! Comments to be answered! Interviews to be conducted! I wouldn’t be surprised if she wants to strangle me by the time I’m supposed to see her in person next weekend.

This is all just a long-winded way of saying that you should go to the Sis’s blog (ohtheplaceswevebeen.com). Do it right now. Maybe even hit that follow button on the right hand side. I realize my saying that is a lot like the chess club president trying to help the quarterback make more friends, but there it is. Enjoy!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

