The weekend my body tried to sue my mind for reckless endangerment

My mind and my body often don’t see eye to eye. My mind thinks the more soccer games the better, while my body is a little less enthusiastic halfway through that second 90-minute soccer game in two days. My mind was convinced by the Chapmans to run the Army Ten Miler last year, while my body could only repeat TEN MILES?!? over and over in disbelief. My mind often thinks it’s a good idea to stay up until 3 a.m. for no good reason, while my body is less than amused at work the next day.

This weekend their feud came to a head. By the end, my body was pretty much ready to ditch my mind and try being a vegetable for a while. It started with the fact that throughout the spring I have one soccer game on Saturday morning and one on Sunday morning every weekend. This weekend we happened to have few or no subs for both games and I ended up playing the entire 90 minutes of both games in the midfield, a position that requires you to constantly run up with the offense and back with the defense.

Enter Living Social. A few weeks back they were offering 65% off of a day of paintball for three. Since that’s something I’ve always wanted to try, I bought the deal and enlisted two of my soccer teammates to join me. But the only day we could all do it was immediately following our soccer game on May 19. Okay, fine. Two soccer games and a few hours of paintball, that was doable for one weekend, right?

Okay, a bright white shirt with pictures of babies might not have been the best of wardrobe choices.

Enter the Warrior Dash. Cecily and I have been planning on doing this epic race for several months. I knew it was some weekend in May, but I never really took the time to clarify which one. Until about a week ago. I also realized that since we had signed up for the 3 p.m. wave, I would have plenty of time to play my soccer game at 10 a.m. before having to leave for the Warrior Dash. Plenty of time, not a lot of common sense.

Of course who said the Warrior Dash has anything to do with common sense?

My mind declared the weekend a great success. I played some great soccer, had a blast getting nailed by some paintballs, and jumped over fire dressed as a somewhat blind Teenage Ninja Mutant Turtle.

My body is still looking into emancipation options.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The weekend my body tried to sue my mind for reckless endangerment

  1. Yeah right now my body pretty much just asks “Are you nuts??” over and over.

  2. The Libuncle says:

    Chortle. Snicker. LOL. You are getting a very early dose of what it’s like to get old…. when the body says, “Are you nuts? Do you have a clue how old I am?”

Leave a Reply

