Introducing my newest obsession: Kickstarter!

Cecily and I have been itching to work together on a creative project of our own making pretty much since we met each other and realized we shared two halves of the same brain. Ever since discovering just how little she has traveled outside of her home state of Virginia, I’ve also been determined to take her on a road trip. A few weeks ago we came up with an idea to combine all of that into one amazing project.

Since then we’ve been thinking, planning, filming, writing, editing and obsessing over every tiny detail. Last night we finally got to hit the submit button on Destination: Inspiration. We’re doing it through Kickstarter, which if you don’t know is this really cool crowdsource funding tool for all manner of creative endeavors. I’m so excited that it’s hard not to walk around with a massive grin pasted on my face every second! Especially since we already have 10 backers as of this post on the first full day of the project. TEN!!

If you like postcards, road trips, great photography and pretty okay writing, you should definitely check out our project. We explain it with both video for the visual people like Cecily and words for the people like me. One of the quirks of Kickstarter is that if you don’t reach your goal, you get nothing – and we have less then 30 days to get there. So take a look and tell your friends!

Get ready for a whole lot of posts on this subject because it is going to be EPIC(I have already gone way over my normal exclamation point allotment in this post, so why not go all out?)!!!!

 

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introducing my newest obsession: Kickstarter!

  1. Zack Jones says:

    I spend way too much time looking at projects on KickStarter but there are so many cool ones like yours! You two are well on your way go getting your funding. I wish you the best of luck with your project. It’s a great idea!

  2. Thanks, I am huge Kickstarter fan as well. Such a great way help creative people do amazing things!

  3. Alison D. says:

    I love kickstarter and definitely recommend using it. One of my friends just got her project completely funded ($5,000) in under 48 hours. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

