They like us, they really like us!

Launching our Kickstarter project was pretty nerve-wracking. I mean, we had put a TON of work into coming up with the idea, filming and editing the video, writing up the project description and rewards, and planning out an epic road trip. We had a blast doing it, but it would have been a little depressing if all that effort didn’t amount to anything. Honestly we had no idea if anyone besides our own mothers would actually spend real money to back us. The fact that even my Mom didn’t quite get the whole concept was more than a little worrisome.

But finally last Thursday night we could tweak no more and decided to hit the big scary launch button. Within a few hours, $310 had already been pledged. We had wafted back and forth on what our goal should be, mostly because with Kickstarter if you don’t reach your goal, you get nothing. It’s like some terrifying version of The Price is Right where we either go home with a fabulous road trip or nothing at all. We finally settled on an initial goal of $1,500 because we figured that was about the minimum we could raise and still afford to go on the road trip, after Kickstarter and Amazon take their 5 percent each off the top.

I don’t think either of us would have predicted reaching that goal in the first six days of the project. The outpouring of support has left me pretty much speechless. And if you’ve read this blog at all you know that’s not a position I find myself in, well, ever. Every day I keep waiting for the pace to slow yet somehow, it never does. Yesterday when we soared above and beyond our initial goal of $1,500 by raising $495 in one day, I thought, this is it. This is the high point. It just can’t possibly get any better than this.

So far today we’ve raised $520. HOW IS THIS HAPPENING?!?

All I can really say is thanks. Thanks to my family, thanks to my friends, thanks to Cecily’s family and friends, thanks to all the people we don’t even know who are backing our project. Thanks to everyone on Facebook who hasn’t tried to kill me yet for posting a link to the project every single day. Thanks to Kickstarter for creating a place where creativity can flourish.

The best part is, we’re just getting started. As we said in our recent project update, all the support we’ve received so far has only made us dream bigger. We’re taking this little project to the next level and the more funding we receive, the more we can do. So if you haven’t already, head on over to Kickstarter and check out Destination: Inspiration. It’s what all the cool people are doing.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Epic Epicness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They like us, they really like us!

  1. The Libuncle says:

    Darling Meg – While all this has “pretty much left you speechless,” it obviously hasn’t left you wordless, and I am so happy about that. Really looking forward to your arrival and the chance to meet Veronika. Gonna send you some stuff this week to check your interest level.

    • The day I’m left wordless is the day you’ll know that aliens have landed and one has taken over my body. As long as that doesn’t happen in the next week, I can’t wait to see you! Send me your stuff and I will let you know what we are thinking.

Leave a Reply

