All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go…

(Okay, “packed” might be a slight exaggeration, but you get the gist.)

Tomorrow Cecily and I leave for our epic road trip adventure that will take us over 5,000 miles through 15 states. Neither of us has ever been on a vacation that lasted longer than a week. I don’t even know what being away for 19 whole days looks like – but I am excited to find out!

A few months ago when we had the idea, it seemed little more than a great dream that would be really cool to do someday. I still haven’t fully realized that somehow we managed to pull it off and it is really happening. Tomorrow. All this weekend I’ve been a little terrified that something horrible would happen to prevent us from going. Luckily I managed to survive two soccer games and a Warrior Dash with only a twisted ankle which, as I’ve discussed, happens to me about as often as a hangnail.

In honor of the fact that we’re going to be gone for nearly three weeks, I’ve made a real effort to not put off packing until the last minute. I mean here we are, a full 20 hours before we are scheduled to leave, and my suitcase is totally already out. There may even be a few pieces of clothing in it. I’m that ahead of the game.

Cecily and I have some big plans for our road trip, including swimming with sharks at the aquarium in Atlanta, running the Beach Dash in Galveston, surfing the Great Sand Dunes, going to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta, and on and on and on. We’ve started a brand new blog just for the trip at destinationinspiration.com so that anyone who is interested can follow along with our adventures.

Starting in the next few days the blog will be crammed full of Cecily’s amazing photos and my halfway decent words, so you should definitely check it out. Tell your friends. We’re going to attempt to post all about our ongoing shenanigans every day, barring any major road complications or Internet snafus. I’ll also probably be cross-posting some of the content here.

Thanks to everyone who has backed our project and helped out in other ways too. If you have any last minute road trip tips or packing advice, feel free to share. I can’t wait to see what kind of ridiculous things are in store for us!

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Destination: Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go…

  1. Pingback: That time when my students found my old blog | The 1st draft…

  2. unclelawwy says:

    Having done a cross-country and return road trip recently enough that I can remember most of it, my strongest advice is to take along a batch of Ziplock freezer bags and throw the small stuff- toiletries, earbuds, ipods, batteries, etc- into them as soon as you’re through using them. And keep one handy as you sweep quickly back through your temporary digs. Second would be GET EVERYTHING INTO THE CAR whether it’s packed or not. It make make for chaos at your next stop, but that’s better that finding out that you left your only pair of good black dress shoes on the sidewalk outside a motel in Indiana. Bon Voyage, children, vaya con la diosa!

Leave a Reply

