A question of significance

Warning: the following post veers into the political, which I usually avoid like the plague on this blog. We will return to our regularly scheduled programming next post.

Dear Don,

There I was minding my own business, sorting most of my mail into the recycling bin, when I came across your lovely direct mailer:

Don's Direct Mailer

Well congratulations Don, you’ve managed in one phrase to completely sum up why I normally hate when people talk about “women’s issues.” Perhaps you think taking the time to send me something outlining your stance on “issues that are significant to women” will sway my vote your way. Spoiler alert: you’re going to be disappointed.

You see Don, you actually have no freaking clue what issues are significant to me, much less how I feel about those issues. I’m going to go out on a limb and say the same is true for 98% of the women who received your lovely mailer. Maybe abortion is their top issue and they probably do support expanded family leave and equal pay. But guess what? Those aren’t the only things that are significant to them. Some of them are pretty worried about our national debt. To some, the environment is the most significant issue. For others, education has the most significance in their life. There’s a lot of significant stuff out there Don, and perhaps it comes as a shock to you, but some of it has absolutely nothing to do with gender. Believe it or not, we women don’t actually all get together and decide that there are only four standard issues we’re allowed to care about. In fact, we don’t even get together and decide which side to collectively take on the issues we do care about!

Next time maybe try telling me what issues are significant to you, instead of trying to tell me and every other woman what issues you think we should find significant based solely on our gender.

Sincerely,

A Woman Who Questions Your Significance

This rant is brought to you by the writing adrenaline rush Megan gets when people really annoy her.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 30-something English teacher living in the Midwest who loves books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in That's Very Irksome. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A question of significance

  1. WT says:

    Amen to all that Don
    Condescending would be the sum it up word.

    • Yep – “Stop being a condescending idiot” could have summed up my thoughts just as well as this post, but then I wouldn’t have gotten the satisfaction I did from writing it.

Leave a Reply

