Does this mean I’m a vampire?

We started the day with a full Irish breakfast including bacon, sausage, fried egg, white pudding, and tomato. I also opted to give the black pudding a try, while Mom was a firm no after she heard what it was made of. I liked it, although I will admit that knowing what was in it did make me a bit more squeamish than I ever have been about finishing any other food while traveling.

Only a few short hours later we stuffed ourselves with a light lunch and then met up with our Rick Steve’s group. We stood out a bit from the group – me because I’m 30-40 years younger than most of the people and Mom because she said the thing she wanted to get out of the trip was to still be getting along with me by the end of it.
Our first activity as a group was to go on a walking tour of Ennis led by a local who I had heard about the day before. She was really good and offered us some interesting stories about the history of the town, from the exploits of famous healing woman Biddy Early to the origin of the word boycott to the way nagging wives were punished by the courts in the 18th century.

We then saw the ruins of a local friary that was originally built in the 1200s. The highlight of it for me was the carving on this tomb:

img_7515-1

All you good people that now stand by / As you are now so once was I / As I am now so shall you be / Remember death and pray for me

We had a fantastic dinner both because of the food and the company – mix together a couple from Texas, a couple from Colorado Springs, and us and you have a pretty good time. We even learned an Irish toast, because one should never say cheers in Ireland for obvious reasons. Then the bill came and I realized that my little diet coke cost more than Mom’s beer. Ireland is trying even harder than some of my college friends to convince me to like beer!

Tomorrow we leave Ennis and head to the Dingle peninsula, home of our tour guide, who has promised to show us a very good time.

About The 1st Draft

I am a 20-something writer living in (okay, near) DC who loves politics, books, television, soccer, a good conversation, Cardinals baseball, and playing with my adorable nieces and nephews.
This entry was posted in Ireland, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does this mean I’m a vampire?

  1. unclelawwy says:

    …. Mom because she said the thing she wanted to get out of the trip was to still be getting along with me by the end of it.” Ah, a wise woman that mother of yours.

Leave a Reply

